Pop art and 85 Sky

I hope you like the catchy title, though it says little of the topic. We’d best forge on to the Pop Art Cafe. Friday evenings are for relaxing and giving ourselves a little reward. That seems to be a universal thing. With my pockets empty and no camera (and apparently the world didn’t end) we piled into the small Hyundai and visited a section that I’d describe as the Taiwanese version of Soho. With limited accessibility and maximum help from the chef/owner himself, I worked my way through a series of ramps and bumps that he had mapped out ahead when Cliff called to make a reservation.

The Pop Art Cafe’s chef, another George, explained to us that he is a Canadian who came to Taiwan as an adventure, fell in love with a lady and with the nation, and merged his art profession with his culinary passion. The fare is what he described as simply delicious American ranging from burgers to pizza to steaks plus a bit of Indonesian. Excellent!

dscn1581

Pictures resumed yesterday with a trip to the 85 Sky Tower. Approximately the height of the Empire State Building, all similarities to other skyscrapers end when one views the building. The first 39 stories are two office buildings that then connect and have a single spire rising from there.

We were in time for afternoon high tea, which did not disappoint. Salads, fresh seafood, sushi, ham, pot stickers, and an amazing lemon green tea. Let’s not mention the seafood pizza. “Pizza is not to be made with seafood.” – G Rector, 2017

Have you enjoyed Taiwan? I hope over a couple of weeks I’ve introduced you to wonderful people and an amazing nation! This was Kaohsiung, family style, which is what the world is all about. I’ve popped wheelies over bumps, rattled down old sidewalks, and glided on marble floors. This is my family, and I love them dearly.

Thank you for the wonderful comments and the many Likes. To our new followers, I hope you will join us as we continue around the world in 27 days. My time and my energy (remember old MS fatigue?) have been stretched thin. I promise that once home I will visit your sites, as well.

Picture above is of Cameron standing in front of a drawing of 85 Sky Tower. Below are some pictures taken from the 74th floor observation area. They show the harbor, Love River, and the city. And a photo of my my beautiful daughter-in-law Natalie. 

4 thoughts on “Pop art and 85 Sky

  1. Have loved traveling with you and your family George. Thanks for sharing all the adventure. Don’t worry about catching up with us, there’ll be plenty of time for that!! You have a beautiful family, you are all blessed!! London next… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Deb. It was an adventure, for sure. Great Britain has perhaps the most advanced internet systems in the world. Unfortunately, our hotel had the oldest system still in existence. So we are behind. I hope to remedy part of that this afternoon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

