Wheelies and waves

fullsizeoutput_149b.jpegI love ships – cruise ships. Big ones, small ones, new ones, and old ones if they’ve been refurbished. Cruises are our escape. Escape from the grocery, pharmacy, hardware store, watering plants, and running the robot on the floors. Escape to flip flops.

Oh, wait! I wear flip flops for everything. Let’s try this… Take my flip flops, my wheels, and my camera and go somewhere. Somewhere stress free and laid back and accessible. What is more accessible than the ocean if you have a beautiful ship?

Two weeks ago we drove to Port Canaveral and headed for the Caribbean. Sandy and I cruise differently than what one might expect. This week, for example, we actually used the dining room. My tux consisted of a shirt with buttons and soft, brown pants with the drawstring tucked in out of sight. And I wore socks!

This beauty is new and large. Very large with lots of carpet. Did someone find a sale at Captain Ollie’s Carpet Outlet? Wheelchairs don’t like carpet. I got pushed a lot more than I like. But other areas are nice and smooth with the freedom to roam around, get  a coconut cooler, hit the Coke Freestyle machine, and shop. I love to shop. This trip I bought some sunscreen and some spray aloe. I said shop. It takes money to actually buy!

DSCN1835We relaxed in the pool. Why are ship’s pools not accessible? Getting back into the wheelchair takes some doing. The lifeguards offered assistance. The water was warm and the fountains fun.

My favorite stop was the beach party. DSCN1801Caribbean. August. Hot. But the sidewalk is paved close to the water, there was a great breeze, and the lunch was fun. I didn’t attempt the sand. fullsizeoutput_1499.jpeg

You can make a cruise into whatever you want. Flip flops or ties. To this wheelie, the sea is the place to be.

Thank you for sailing with us. It is always a pleasure having you here. Try out the new Follow button!

DSCN1814.JPG

Pictures: The opening photo is a blown out flip flop with a repair tag that reads Flip Flop Repair Shop; Customer, Jimmy Buffet; Address, Margaritaville; Service Required, Fix blown out flip flop. – Small photo on the right shows a small, round pool with overhead fountains. Next pictures are of Sandy behind a life preserver and George under a palm tree on the beach. – Final picture is a large photo of George sitting partially turned in the wheelchair, in front of a cut out of a huge butterfly.

6 thoughts on “Wheelies and waves

  1. Ahh the sea, such freedom, open space, big beautiful sky!! Really brings you in touch with the Universe. George you should attach those wings to the back of your chair, they’re awesome!! Great pic. Glad you had such a great time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always dreamed of going on a cruise. In fact I have a savings plan that matures in a couple of years time and I was planning on a cruise until I ended up in a wheelchair. Reading this has now inspired my dream, I can’t let my legs stop me. Thank you. I love the last photo, if you can’t use your legs why not have wings instead.

    Like

  3. Hi. Thank you for the kind words. I had not thought about the significance of the wings in the way you envisioned it. Wonderful. – Cruising is accessible and fun. It is hard to get an accessible cabin because there aren’t enough, and people who don’t need them sometimes get them. – There may be ports where we can’t do lots of things, and tendering is a problem. Some ports are great! But the ship is a huge yacht with lots of things to do, including just relax with a book. If I can answer any questions, please feel welcome to let me know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

