“I thought turkeys could fly”

“As God as my witness, I thought turkeys could fly.”

A middle aged man with a mostly bald head, hair messed up badly, suit wrinkled and torn, tie destroyed.

If you happen to be old enough or like to play with the odd cable channels, you might recognize the image of Mr. Carlson, station manager of WKRP in Cincinnati. As a Thanksgiving promotion Mr. Carlson “bombed the Pinedale Shopping Center” with live turkeys thrown from a helicopter. “They are hitting the ground like sacks of wet cement.”

Ever have things go wrong?

What a month! Life on wheels has been fine. MS in the last month, rather trying. Just when I thought all was perfect, like Mr. Carlson’s turkey promotion things kind of went wrong. I finished cardiac rehab feeling the best I had felt in years! That lasted exactly one day. Yes, one.

I foolishly waited until cardiac rehab was over to get my 4th Covid vaccination. You know, the US government said that was the thing to do. The medical profession and the MS organizations parroted the CDC. Even ads on TV said to get the new vaccine. So I did.

Not medical advice

Please do not take this as medical advice. This is what my experience was like and in no way reflects what others experienced or might experience. It does explain my last month.

Feeling great. Off to get vaccinated. Not gonna get Covid. As it turned out, I did not get Covid. By evening my body felt like it was ready to shut down. I talked with my medical pros, and they agreed that I was having one fine MS exacerbation. How long will it last? What can I do about it? Answer, ride it out. Do all the usual things. Proper nutrition, hydrate, exercise, and rest.

But wait; there’s more

I thought, which was a mistake in itself, but I thought I was going for more aerobic exercise. The therapy center thought I was coming for the sciatica therapy that got short circuited when I had the heart attack months ago. By the way, that has performed very well since the second heart cath. The appointment turned into an eval, and the therapist planned to take some time and work out something customized for me. My sciatica did not take kindly to being evaluated. Now we have the MS and the sciatica going simultaneously.

Thankful for Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. It started for me as a day when my aunt and uncle were with us every year. Now it is a day for Sandy and me together. It’s only premise is being thankful. Thankfulness is the foundation of happiness and joy.

Today, the day before Thanksgiving, Thanksgiving Eve if you will, I am feeling pretty good. We have a simple dinner planned and are looking forward to a nice day. No turkeys tossed from helicopters. No sacks of wet cement. A day of joy, and I wish all of you the same. Tomorrow and every day.

Thank you for stopping by and for your patience with inconsistent writing. I shall use my hand and make a giant sweep across my writing table and put writing back in the center. Y’all are amazing.

PD: A middle aged man with a mostly bald head, hair messed up badly, suit wrinkled and torn, tie destroyed.

17 comments

  1. Hey George, thank you for sharing this in the group. I knew you were having some challenges after your last vaccine but wasn’t aware, or maybe I forgot about the sciatica situation. It sounds ghastly (I couldn’t think of a more appropriate word). I’m glad to hear that today you are well and preparing for dinner with your best friend tomorrow. Have a Happy Thanksgiving and please let Sandy know I’m sending her good wishes too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m unfamiliar with the guy who looks like he’s been through a wind turbine but let me get this straight – live turkeys were thrown from a helicopter? Obviously not real ones but that’s horrible!

    I’m glad you felt good for one day after finishing your cardiac rehab. Shame it was so short-lived! But congratulations on doing the whole course, because it’s quite an epic rehab you have there. Sciatica, poorly after vaccine and MS flare-up, what a combo! I’m so sorry, George, that sounds really rough.

    The vaccines are such a contentious issue and everyone responds a little differently. It’s weird too that you can have three jabs and be okay-ish with some mild side-effects, then the next ones knocks you on your arse. You’d think it’d be the other way around once your body gets used to them.

    Happy Thanksgiving! I really do hope you had a lovely, peaceful time with good food and a sense of thankful warmth. No turkeys from helicopters, which I’m pretty sure would be outlawed currently 🦃 – not because of animal rights, but because the cost of living crisis means each turkey probably costs as much as a small car!

    Caz xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Caz. The line if from a famous, in the US, 1978 episode of WKRP in Cincinnati. A low rated radio station with a zany cast. No, nothing about this was real, though the producer later said that a similar stunt had actually be tried in Texas, which is where he got the idea. 😳

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment